Excellence in Education Award

This award was initiated in 1988 to recognize outstanding teaching, mentoring, and/or educational outreach in plant biology. It is a monetary award to be made annually in recognition of excellence in teaching, leadership in curricular development, or authorship of effective teaching materials in the science of plant biology.

Candice Galen

2016 Winner: Candace Galen

The 2016 Excellence in Education Award recipient is Candace Galen (University of Missouri) for her exceptional and sustained contributions to plant biology education at the K-12, undergraduate, and graduate levels. Candace was instrumental in launching ShowMe Nature, an NSF-funded graduate training program introducing science into elementary school classrooms, and BGREEN, a literacy program that has elementary students conducting environmental research. She has worked for the past decade cultivating community partnerships to protect Pennsylvania Mountain in the Colorado Rocky Mountains, where she has long conducted ecological research. In both her research and outreach efforts, she demonstrates effective mentorship and teaching by enlisting undergraduates, graduate students, teachers, and community partners.


Stan Roux, Chair & Past Winner (15-18)
Candace Galen, Past Winner (16-17)
Becca Dickstein (15-18)
MariaElena Zavala (16-19)
Sylvia Lee, Staff Liaison

Nomination & Deadlines

The Excellence in Education Award will be offered again in 2017. Please check the nominations page in January 2017 to make a nomination.

Past Winners

2015 – Stan Roux
2014 – Brent Buckner
2013 – Erin Dolan
2012 – Peggy Lemaux
2011 – Mary Williams
2010 – Jane Ellis
2007 – Roger Hangarter
2004 – Susan Singer
2001 – Jon Monroe
1998 – Carol Reiss
1995 – Carl S. Pike
1991 – Paul H. Williams